The first Jewish settlers came to Joliet around 1893. As more Jews arrived they organized services in people’s homes. By the time there were three separate groups in town, the need for a Synagogue became evident. In 1911, the first Hebrew School was organized, and a short time later a Synagogue was established. Shortly thereafter, a second congregation was organized.
In 1922, the Jewish community consolidated all the Jewish organizations to from one synagogue, which included the Mt. Moriah Cemetery. It is believed to be the first synagogue organized in the United States to simultaneously serve orthodox, conservative and reform needs of the Jewish people in the same community. In 1928, the first Synagogue building built from the ground up was consecrated.
After WWII, the congregation changed its name to Joliet Jewish Congregation. The community prospered and grew and in 1968 erected the current building used today. The congregation boasts a small but energetic group of Jews who trust that the recent growth in the area will bring more Jewish families to appreciate a sound religious education for their children, a Jewish community of caring individuals, within a traditional Jewish setting.